Thread: Question About Packing the Crate

Question About Packing the Crate

Hi, first post here, so forgive me if it is obvious. I am a painter and am building my first crate. This blog has been a great resource, and thanks for the tip on the #10 washer head wood thread screws. I read the post and was able to order some online here http://bit.ly/1abOGG6.
    I am shipping a 6' x 6' oil painting on canvas (stretched over a rigid support). I used 3" Polyethylene (from ULINE- marketed as Plank Foam) to cushion the painting but have a question on how to best protect the face of the paining from and damage during transit. I was going to put the painting in a plastic mattress cover (something I have done in the past, but am sure is not museum standard) and pad the center of the crate top with Polyethylene foam to keep the painting in place. However I am concerned that any vibration or small shifting during the transit could cause the Polyethylene to rub and scratch the surface of the painting. If anyone has any advise or even a photo of how to deal with the padding or treatment of a painting surface/crate top when building a crate it would be much appreciated. How can I best protect the surface of the painting yet still keep the paining in place.

Many Thanks.

Crate Back.jpgCrate Front.jpg
    Last edited by Corbfast; 06-14-2013 at 01:19 PM.

PACCIN Advisory Committee Member T. Ashley McGrew's Avatar
    First question just to clarify - the painting you are shipping doesn't have a frame is that correct?
    T. Ashley McGrew
    PACCIN Advisory Committee member

Yes that is correct, no frame it is just linen stretched over a rigid support and stapled on the side.

PACCIN Advisory Committee Member T. Ashley McGrew's Avatar